All plaster types according to DIN

DIN has brought some order and system into the unmanageable variety of different plaster types. How the plasters are classified in the DIN, and which standards apply to individual plaster types, you can read in this article in detail.

Classification system of DIN

DIN V 18550 and DIN EN 13279 divide plasters into different groups. In both cases, the criterion for classification is the type of material of which the plaster is composed. In addition, the ratio of binder to additives is crucial.

Excluded from this classification are the synthetic resin plaster, which regulates the DIN 18558. Separate requirements apply here, since synthetic resin plasters are fundamentally different in design from the classic plasters. Auc1h the method of manufacture and use is different.

DIN 18550

Here a division of the plasters into four basic groups, which are then still subdivided. The individual groups are designated with Roman numerals from I to IV, the subdivision of the groups is made with lowercase letters.

Group I (or P I) includes all plasters in which lime hydrate or hydraulic lime are used in different proportions. Subgroups a, b and c each denote air lime mortar, lime mortar and hydraulic lime mortar in this order.

Group P II includes all mortars in which lime and cement are mixed. In general, the mixing ratio is 2 parts of lime on a room part cement, in addition there is a different number of room parts of sand (aggregate).

Group P III includes all pure cement mortar. Again, the amount of aggregate is variable, but the rule is 3 or 4 parts of sand on a cement room part.

Group P IV includes all gypsum mortars. The subdivision is more extensive here. The subdivision includes on the one hand the building plaster (IV a) and the gypsum sand mortar (IV b). On the other hand, a gypsum lime mortar (IV c) and a lime plaster mortar (IV c) is still different, for which the mixing ratios of the components are each fixed.

DIN EN 13279

DIN EN 13279 divides the plasters into a total of seven groups. They are called Latin numerals - from B1 to B7.
However, the classification of DIN EN 13279 only applies to gypsum plaster. The exact name in this case is gypsum dry mortar.

Strictly speaking, it is therefore an extension of group P IV of DIN 18550.

Group B1, as well as Group B2, designates all gypsum dry mortar containing less than 5% lime. The calcium sulfate content is either above or below 50%.

In contrast, group B3 refers to all plasters with a high proportion of lime, groups B4 to B7 include all light plasters containing inorganic aggregates or lightweight aggregates. They each have different properties. For example, group B7 has a particularly high surface hardness.

Other classification

In addition, one can also classify plaster according to the type of use - ie either as a top coat or flush, as a thermal insulation plaster or as interior or exterior plaster, each with higher or lower abrasion resistance. This classification is not standardized in the DIN.

Video Board: Plaster of Paris Wrist Circular Cast Application