The most important standards for concrete

Concrete is one of the most important building materials of today. Since it is used so often, concrete is also standardized very strictly today. Which standards there are in general for concrete, and where to find them, tells you this post.

Necessity of standardization

Concrete is a mixture of cement, water, rock and a variety of additives and auxiliaries. The concrete composition is crucial for the stability of the concrete after curing. The mixing ratios of this "recipe" must also be met very precisely, so that the required carrying capacity of the concrete component is actually given later.

It proves to be particularly problematic that a dimensioning of a concrete component is only possible exactly if exactly the required concrete quality was achieved. In addition to the prescribed composition, the grain used and any additives, the correct "preparation" of the concrete is important. In the case of shotcrete, for example, the residual moisture of the individual substances is important, so that the required concrete quality can be achieved.

The most important standards

The basic standards for concrete are the DIN EN 206 and the DIN 1045. Here the most substantial is found over composition of concretes, regulations for proportions and class divisions of the concrete. DIN 1048 contains requirements for test methods for concrete.

By contrast, DIN 488 regulates everything that has to do with rebar. The DIN EN 1992 and the DIN EN 10088 contain further regulations for prestressed concretes and reinforced concrete.

DIN EN 934 deals with admixtures for concretes.

In addition, there are a large number of other standards that regulate other aspects of concrete construction and reinforced concrete construction.

For precast concrete elements, their design and their use, there are a whole series of other standards. The standards mentioned here apply only to a limited extent to precast concrete elements. In this case, DIN EN 14649 and DIN EN 14650 in particular are decisive, as well as DIN EN 14474, DIN EN 14843 and DIN EN 14844.

concrete classes

The so-called concrete grade is a classification of concretes specified in DIN EN 206 or DIN 1045. Here, different properties of the concrete are assessed and the respective concrete type then divided into appropriate classes.

Above all, the compressive strength class plays an important role in concrete. It is the measure of how resilient the concrete is to pressure loads. For certain applications, the DIN and other regulations also provide certain concrete grades and certain compressive strengths. From these specifications may not be deviated, the concrete quality must be sure.

For ready-mix concrete, the manufacturer is responsible for the quality of the concrete, for ready-mixed concrete, the quality is guaranteed by proper preparation of the concrete according to the manufacturer's instructions. When self-mixing concrete, one can not make any binding statements about the quality.

Video Board: Most Important Indian Standard Codes for Civil engineers