Overview of window protection classes

To assess the burglar resistance of windows, there are standardized protection classes. In addition, there are certain criteria on how to judge the resistance of windows. For a brief overview of the classes and what they mean, see this post.

DIN EN 1627

DIN EN 1627 is the underlying standard for the burglary-resistance classes. Please note that the 2011 standard has been revised. The security classes were also revised.

In some cases, the old standards are still indicated for windows and doors. This can be recognized by the fact that the resistance class is called WK. The current standard refers to resistance classes with RC (Resistance Class).

Other standards

In addition to the basic standard DIN EN 1627, there are other regulations in the following standards (standard series):

  • DIN EN 1628
  • DIN EN 1629
  • DIN EN 1630

Validity of the standard

The standard applies not only to windows, but also to doors, French doors and so-called "curtain walls". This means shutters. For them, the same resistance classes apply with regard to burglar resistance.

However, only the resistance classes and burglary types in relation to windows will be described in more detail below.

Determination of resistance classes

The resistance classes are determined in the standard across several parameters. On the one hand, the resistance time of certain types of windows is measured against certain types of attacks. In addition, the types of attacks are assigned to specific types of perpetrators and procedures.

A casual burglar can be deterred more quickly and uses different tools than a seasoned professional burglar. This was also taken into account when defining the resistance classes.

Resistance class RC 1

These windows offer no protection against mechanical attacks. They also do not offer any opportunity offenders any significant resistance. The use of such windows is not advisable. But you can still be used in the upper floor, where the offender needs a ladder, and has no fixed footprint.

Resistance class RC 2N

Windows of this class will stop an occasional offender for about 3 minutes if he uses only simple tools (screwdriver, pliers) and does not hit the glass.

Resistance class 2

The same as class 2N, except that here a safety glazing is installed (according to DIN EN 356)

Resistance class 3

Also, stop habitants with a cow foot and two screwdrivers for at least 5 minutes.

Resistance class 4

Windows of this resistance class also keep experienced offenders with ax, chisel, hammer and chisel and Akkubohrmaschine for at least 10 minutes.

Resistance class 5

Also keeps experienced offenders using power tools on for at least 15 minutes. A direct attack on the glazing does not succeed.

Resistance class 6

Windows of this class will also keep experienced offenders for at least 20 minutes, even if he uses powerful power tools (drill, jigsaw, angle grinder). In addition to the classification according to DIN EN 356 (see below), the window also resists direct attack.

Breakthrough security and security against throwing

The resistance classes from DIN EN 1627 relate only to the window frame. Also, the glazing must be able to withstand attacks. For this purpose, DIN EN 356 defines safety classes for the glazing.

Ordinary glass offers no protection against passage or breakthrough. However, glass can also be made as laminated glass or as so-called bulletproof glass. A similar, albeit weaker burglar-resistant effect may have security foils.

Pass-through inhibition classes

The throw-through resistance is divided into classes P1A to P5A. For P1A, a 4.11 kg bullet is dropped onto the glazing three times 1.5 meters high. In P5A, the window 9 must be able to withstand such attacks on the same spot from 9 meters in height.

Breakthrough inhibition classes

The break-through resistance class (P6B to P8B) is tested using an ax. For P6B, the glazing withstands 30 - 50 axles, with P8B more than 70 axles.

Video Board: This Old House - Window Protection